Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Atheists United

Back to Guilds

A safe and friendly place for Atheists to be themselves. 

Tags: Atheism, Theology, Philosophy, Science, Logic 

Reply The Main Discussion Place
Prayer conducted at official graduation ceremony Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Six Billion of Spades

Familiar Phantom

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 11:42 am
Last week, my high school held its official commencement exercises, in which, I'm proud to say, I officially started my "parole." What I'm not proud to say, however, is that I graduated in an atmosphere of coerced religion. A prayer was conducted before commencement began, and as if that wasn't enough, another was given in dismissal. I've heard several different opinions on this, ranging from the all-too-common-around-where-I-live "Yes, because without Jesus how can you manage your life?" to the more reasonable "No, because it's against the Establishment Clause" to even "Why does it matter?", which, most of the time, is really just a badly disguised "yes."

Because this school is part of a public school district, prayer has no place in its graduation ceremony. Some students can't afford to attend private school, and some just may have their own beliefs, so why should they be forced to attend a school which establishes an official religion?

The purpose of a belt is to hold up one's pants. But the Bible Belt has a recurring habit of dropping its collective pants and mooning - in the most subtle way possible - people who choose to hold up their pants with a belt of equality.

What are your thoughts on this? How would you react if your school incorporated prayer into their commencement exercises?  
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 2:38 pm
hi there,

could you not report something like that to the ACLU?  

Calypsophia

Cirosan

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 3:07 pm