Welcome to Gaia! ::

Infinite possibilities-A writer's guild

Back to Guilds

This is a writer's guild where all can gather for feedback and advice on all mediums of writing. Plus it's a great place for conversation. 

Tags: Writing, Writer, Writer's Block, Critiques, Friends 

Reply Infinite possibilities-A writer's guild
A Stab at Contemporary

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Isianya

Aged Gaian

1,900 Points
  • Happy Birthday! 100
  • Gaian 50
  • Member 100
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:25 pm
While gathering together any traces of creative effort for my college entrance applications, I noticed that a lot of--many--okay, okay, all my stories have one theme, voice, and style. I know it's important to have a variety of styles and be able to write in more than one genre. So, I took a stab at a contemporary story.

Note: This is my first try so... be gentle. sweatdrop

The blood had been savagely splattered on the walls of the one-bedroom apartment since three o'clock that morning. Detectives Mallory and Camp of the New York Police Deparatment crossed under the yellow caution tape and stood in awe of the hideous scene. Jacob Mallory folded his arms against his chest and gave a long whistle. "Whadd'ya think, Camp?" he said.

"I think we have ourselves a serial killer," she said after running a hand through her long brown hair. She took a few steps toward the mass covered by a plain white sheet, bent down and threw the cloth back with one hand. Mallory turned away. "This is the fourth victim. All female - all with their faces hacked by this nut." She replaced the sheet and began to survey the apartment.

"It doesn't make any sense," he said after his stomach settled. "Victims' faces are mutilated to hide their identity. But -"