Welcome to Gaia! ::

Craftin' - A sewing, knitting and glue kind of place.

Back to Guilds

Reply Craftin'
Questions about sewing ruffles/trim

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Rasabon

7,300 Points
  • Mark Twain 100
  • Tycoon 200
  • Invisibility 100
PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 12:08 am
I'm not even sure if I'm calling it the right thing.

I have some fabric that I cannot find any trim for at all. The lady at the fabric store suggested using more of the same pattern to make some ruffles for trimmings, and I think this sounds like a wonderful idea. The only problem is, I'm a self-taught novice when it comes to clothes, and I'm not sure the best way to sew it. I can see that many of you are very talented, so I'm sure someone here knows how to do what I'm talking about.

I have some pictures of what look like 3 different kinds of ruffles to me.

Here's a ruffle over the fabric, the kind I'm most familiar with:
User Image

Here's a ruffle on top of the fabric(?):
User Image

And this one looks like it's under the fabric?:
User Image

Can someone explain to me how I would sew material to make ruffles like any or all of these? Or point me to some online tutorials?

I have a sewing machine, but I prefer to sew by hand if possible, if that helps.  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 10:12 am
Okay, i can tell you how to do the first and the second easily, and when i'm more awake, maybe the third. heart

(On a side note, those are Mary Magdalene, right? They make my soul ache for loli)