Greek Mythology Question

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

kandie_kissies

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 9:14 pm
I have a few questions pertaining to the Amulet of Aphrodite:

1. What special abilities or talents did the wearer gain?
2. What did it look like?
3. Can you get me a link or something where I can go to see the myth where it was given to Aphrodite from Zeus?

Thank you, any answers would be greatly appreciated!  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 7:04 am
I have never read that story! If you tell me the name, I can find it though.  

Priestess of Neptune
Crew

kandie_kissies

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:39 am
Priestess of Neptune
I have never read that story! If you tell me the name, I can find it though.

I don't know the exact name of the story, but I do know a basic summary. When Aphrodite was "born" from the ocean, the amulet was given to her by Zeus. I'm not an expert on Greek mythology, or anything, so I don't know any more about this. emo  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:15 pm
All I know is from Suite Life of Zack & Cody. I Googled it... but one of the links that came up was the link to the topic on Gaia where you asked about it in mythology. I figure enough has been said. I can help you by looking up information on the girdle if you want...  

dragongirl187

penandpaper67
Captain

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:36 am
I looked it up too, but didn't find much of anything. Here's a link to the wikipedia page on Aphrodite in general, but it didn't have anything much about her "amulet." http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aphrodite  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 6:48 pm
Okay, I found the passage you are talking about. It's on page 373 of Edith Hamilton's Mythology (The Royal House of Thebes). I'll quote the relevant bits: