Reply Japanese language
on'yomi & kun'yomi

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

blasted by bubbles

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 11:27 am
I've read about on'yomi & kun'yomi & about how there are clues telling you when & how to read each character, but how can you tell when a kanji is by itself or combined with other characters??

I'm a beginner at learning Japanese, but I've learned all Hiragana & 90% or Katakana. I know barely any Kanji. Maybe I should learn more characters before worrying too much about on'yomi & kun'yomi?  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 2:39 pm
Usually yes it would be better to get used to a base of kanji before worrying about on/kun readings but I don't see the harm in a brief synopsis. XD

Japanese Kanji usually have two or more ways to say them. Onyomi (chinese reading) are usually used when two kanji characters are paired together to make a word. Kunyomi (japanese reading) are usually used when a kanji character is paired with one or more hiragana. This is a very general rule but probably 8 time out of 10, it will be correct. Obviously it is not a law and there are exceptions the most notable being the number systems where it is sometimes hard to discern which reading to use with which counters and the like.

Examples:
女の人 - onna no hito (kunyomi) female person
女性 - josei (onyomi) female person

車 - kuruma (kunyomi) car
電車 - densha (onyomi) train; lit: electric vehicle  

Ellembri
Crew

3,750 Points
  • Citizen 200
  • Signature Look 250
  • Forum Sophomore 300

42applez

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:23 am
That's an interesting tip. Honestly, I never noticed a pattern. I'll have to go through my books...