Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Gaian Graphic Designers Guild

Back to Guilds

Gaia's official Graphic Design Guild for all things profiles, logos, graphics and much much more! 

Tags: Graphic, Design, Digital art, Photoshop, Profiles 

Reply The Gaian Graphic Designers Guild
Monthly Lesson/Contests? Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

tiranaki

Fashionable Hoarder

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 1:32 pm
Chisa

And I'm glad we have a print expert here! It'll be great to have some tutorials on that later. Colour theory could maybe come after design principles, or be part of it? I don't know, I wish I was at design school sad

Hmm, well I wouldn't call myself an expert, I'm still a student smile When I graduate next year then you can call me an expert. xd But I do know more than I would want to know. Each school is different, it depends on where you live and what the industry calls for in that region. Here it's mostly print and advertising, business are starting to jump into the web, but most are still relying heavily on billboards, newspaper/magazine ads, brochure/newsletters to put themselves out. I was put in charge of my church's wesbite and I'm a bit scared because I don't know that much about web, I mean, I know how to design for it, but not programming or scripts.

Anyways, usually color theory is discussed as part of design principles, but, at least in my experience, a whole week/2 weeks was dedicated to it because there are a lot of things that go into play, it's not just the color wheel. There's the message, the feeling, the audience, etc... so far I've taken at least 3 different course that discussed color theory in depth, the one that best covered it was the pre-press design class.

Oh, I should mention, I'm taking all these classes in Spanish because that's what's spoken where I live, so I may not know the exact names in English.