Major progress for the lab rats

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Gabrielle_AnimalLuver
Crew

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:52 pm
Some exciting news I haven't yet shared with yall. As most of you know I'm studying animal health. This is FINALLY my last year. Sadly, to graduate from animal health, we must also learn the research aspect of animal health/use. Which at first I was against but have become much more open minded about in the last 4yrs. The whole reason this is part of the program is because techs who know and care about animals are needed in these facilities to assure the wellbeing of the animals. Also, by combining both clinic and lab in one program, the college found often people would become interested in that field who otherwise never would have sought it out.

So of course I use to be one of those people who was all, SHUT THEM ALL DOWN WE DON:T NEED ANIMAL RESEARCH. But I have realized first hand that working WITH them, yields much better results. For instance, several years ago, animals used in research received no enrichment (treats, toys etc) and were often grouped individually. But having people who know about the needs of animals involved in research companies has led to an improvement in the lives and a reduction of the animals needed. Basically what I'm saying is these companies will always exist, wether you believe they are needed or not. And if you attack them head on they will simply ignore you. As we are learning about all the security measurements that must be taken against animal rights activists. Like PETA, who have done nothing for these animals.