Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Gaian Graphic Designers Guild

Back to Guilds

Gaia's official Graphic Design Guild for all things profiles, logos, graphics and much much more! 

Tags: Graphic, Design, Digital art, Photoshop, Profiles 

Reply The Gaian Graphic Designers Guild
Web Design n00b Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Naiadrisa

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 6:20 am
hm i started learning html when i was around 12-13 back then we didnt have stuff like dreamweaver so i just used good old notepad xd i made my websites that way until when i was around 15 or so then i got microsoft frontpage 3nodding but those few years of notepadding was good experience.

i learnt most of my html by looking at the source code of really cool websites that i liked. i saved down the page and studied the html slowly, i still do that sometimes. then i'd just delete certain things to see what impact it'd have on the site and learnt what each tag was for. then i'd try designing my own website and try to replicate something of the same effect (by not looking/stealing anything from the original of course). that was how i gained the bulk of my html skills 3nodding  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:50 am
Nyxx
From personal experience, I started out the 'hard' way learning basic html and working my way up, doing all my work in Notepad. I learned Adobe GoLive and that program is great if you don't want to work with the code too much. Dreamweaver is also really good, almost better, in my opinion. Also, learning CSS is practically a must it seems like anymore, but I'm getting ahead of myself. sweatdrop

No matter what, though, learn the basics of html and what the tags do because you'll still work with them a little even if you use those 2 programs I mentioned. You'll need to know code when you least expect it. Just keep practicing with it and reading up on it and you'll get the hang of it.