Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Atheists United

Back to Guilds

A safe and friendly place for Atheists to be themselves. 

Tags: Atheism, Theology, Philosophy, Science, Logic 

Reply The Main Discussion Place
Prayer conducted at official graduation ceremony Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Baron von Turkeypants

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 9:19 pm
I graduated high school last week, and I went to a parochial school. Prayer wasn't uncommon; it was actually expected. It wasn't the prayer that got to me, but the senior mass, where our bishop gave his sermon on what the "wise-man" does. Apparently, only religious people are "wise" since wise men respect God rolleyes  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 1:55 pm
I'd react how I normally do during group prayers. Eyes open. Head slightly raised and remain quiet. Or if it really starts getting to me, I leave the room.

Xiporah

God of lunchboxes

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 5:13 pm
"The purpose of a belt is to hold up one's pants. But the Bible Belt has a recurring habit of dropping its collective pants and mooning - in the most subtle way possible - people who choose to hold up their pants with a belt of equality."

Best, quote, ever. biggrin That's a keeper. In any case what was done there was purely despicable, fascist forced rhetoric. I’d be fine with prayer in school if all beliefs were represented; atheism already has multiple rooms, The Biology Lab, Chem. Lab, and Physics station.  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:22 pm
Tenth Speed Writer
ProjectOmicron88
I would have probably went up, gone through the diplomas, found mine, and left. Not because I'm intolerant, but I would want to make a point.

To be frank, the only point you would make is that you're an a*****e.

Okay, I'd ASK for the diploma instead of rifling through all of them. razz