Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Atheists United

Back to Guilds

A safe and friendly place for Atheists to be themselves. 

Tags: Atheism, Theology, Philosophy, Science, Logic 

Reply The Main Discussion Place
They're convinced I am Christian. Goto Page: 1 2 3 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Tchaik

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 1:37 pm
First topic. Hello!

So, I am 17, and I baffle the majority of religious adults. They tell me how nice, respectful, caring and courteous I am. They find out that I read, I don't really watch TV, I'm an A student, I listen to Classical music (including religious choirs). And then they ask to confirm that I'm Christian. "Awww, you're Christian aren't you~?"
And I just say, "Naw, I'm actually an Atheist! 3nodding "
That's when they get confused. Apparently, you have to be a Christian to be a good teenager.

I was also "conveniently" let go from the job I'd had for 4 years after my boss asked me if I was Christian and I said I was not. I hated that job anyway. *shrug*

So, does this happen to you?
What are your thoughts?  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 2:12 pm
I love sacred music! I'm watching Amadeus right now, and the narrator, Salieri, is a very devout religious d00d who's pretty good at music.  

Baron von Turkeypants

Arios V

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 5:43 pm
No, I can't say any of that ever happens to me. Although, I have a strong suspicion that I was laid-off from my last job when they found out was an atheist.  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 7:15 pm
Probably due to religious people not understanding how atheists can behave 'respectfully' without the fear of god.  

Marxist-Sloth

Levis Pennae

Dapper Citizen

6,400 Points
  • First step to fame 200
  • Tycoon 200
  • Bunny Spotter 50
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:30 am
That's happened to me before, except they don't ask me they just assume.  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:18 am