Reply Writing: Prose
Tainted Spirits--1st 3 Chapters of my novel

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

xXLight In The DarkXx

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:17 pm
I wanted to get some opinions on this...I'm a writer...of course I'm too hard on myself...that's where you come in...maybe you'll be worse, guess I'll find out soon enough. Be polite, and don't offer an insult without advice...in other words, please be constructive with any criticism.

I'd love an organized response, telling me what you thought of the readability and flow, the characters, the plot development, the descriptions, the whole mess. I hope that you enjoy the story, and thanks for your input. (Note: Chapter 3 is incomplete)

Synopsis: Ellie is still haunted by her past--watching your aunt be brutally murdered in front of you can stick with a person. It's been five years since the murder, and Ellie is still learning to cope. That's when the pastor of her old church calls her up and tells her that her old homestead is due to be torn down, with her consent that is. Before she can ground herself from the disturbing call from her past, she finds herself on a roadtrip with her best friends Katie and Tod. But on their way to Kinswick, Georgia, they wreck and are forced to spend the night in a nearby, shabby motel.

Strange things start to occur, they're disturbed in the night by loud noises, inhuman screeches, and Ellie is haunted by horrific nightmares that may just have something to do with her past and her own repressed memories. As if things weren't bad enough, it seems her aunt's murderer is still alive, and he's stalking her, determined to finish what he started five years ago.
"The people who walked in darkness have seen a great light; Those who dwelt in the land of the shadow of death, upon them a light has shined."
- Isaiah 9:2

"There is a quake that rips the soul asunder. . . it is the pain of remembering."
- Nrb

Prologue