Welcome to Gaia! ::

Craftin' - A sewing, knitting and glue kind of place.

Back to Guilds

Reply Craftin'
Should I make and sell quilts for a living?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Kay-VW

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 12:39 pm
I'm wondering if I should just forget getting a job and just make and sell quilts for a living. I just started sowing earlier this year, and have already made several different projects including: Two quilts, a tree skirt, an apron, pot holders, Christmas stockings, and a pillow.

Anyway, ever since I completed my first quilt, people keep asking me now to make quilts for them. I'm beginning to wonder if i should just make and sell quilts for a living? What do you think, good idea or not a good idea?

I am also planning to learn a few other crafts such as cross stitching and knitting.

I'm also looking for some other kinds of crafts to do, anybody know any good ones?  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 1:22 pm
I don't see anything wrong with trying to make a living selling your quilts. Maybe you could also offer sewing/quilting lessons for some extra money. Starting a website is pretty easy and a great way to show your work to the public. As far as other crafts, check out http://blog.craftzine.com/ they are always offering new and cool tutorials. I also love http://www.cutoutandkeep.net/ domokun  

damnatio memoriae

Dapper Dabbler

12,625 Points
  • Invisibility 100
  • Millionaire 200
  • Nudist Colony 200

fishkisser22

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2008 10:10 pm
you could try it but i would back it up with a job on the side if I were you  
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2008 10:14 pm
I wouldn't try and make a living off just selling quilts, because you can never guarantee how many you'll sell. That could cause problems when bills or something are due.
However, it'd make a great part time job. That way you'll have some extra income on top of whatever you make at a real job.  

Moonhail