Submit

Do you like pancakes?
  yes
  no
  only when they're served on somthings head
View Results

Chetri

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 6:24 pm
Ok, this one has been haunting me since my second year of college. It isn't my best work, but it is still one of my most spectacular failures and I think that merits its own special place in my heart. So here goes. This was submitted to a scholarly journal that ended up taking my poetry instead. I figured it was because of the stories ending (I'm not good at endings) so I sacked the old ending and proffer two replacements. Let me know what
you guys think, even some suggestions on a better ending or ending style would be nice.

The Great Pancake Wars

It was the first day of fall quarter at Platypus University in the Land Beyond Beyond where we all lived. All around town students were packing their cars and getting ready to head out. The rustling of clothes and the sounds of suitcases being slammed into trunks could be heard echoing through the streets. I was ready. I had packed the night before and decided to head out early to beat the traffic. I should have known I wouldn’t be the only one with that idea. As soon as I got my car out of the garage I was locked in traffic. From every driveway down the block cars were backing out trying to get a jump in front of everyone else. Thankfully there were no accidents.

After a long stay in traffic I was on my way. But unfortunately for me and all other students of Platypus University our journey was just beginning. Traffic had deadlocked fourteen miles down the road, and upon leaving my vehicle for further investigation it became apparent that the only bridge across the Gimungus River was washed out. Without the bridge there was no way to reach Platypus University on the island in the middle. There was a long pause as all the students gathered at the end of the road. We were dumbstruck. What would we do now.