Welcome to Gaia! ::

Readers' and Writers' Guild

Back to Guilds

A place for anyone who enjoys a good book 

Tags: reading, writing, books, roleplay, discussion 

Reply Writing: Prose
Untitled. I would love some advice though!!

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Phriya

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 9:16 am
*Sigh* This is a first for me, posting my writing publicly. It's part of chapter one of a story I've been brainstorming for a few years. I actually wrote a lot of it a long time ago but I'm redoing it.

A couple pieces of feedback I'd like are:
1. Commas. I tend to be a comma freak so please let me know if you see improper use of them. smile
2. Did you like/dislike the way I introduced the main character and his name?
3. Did I confuse you in the way I introduced the other characters?

I'm mostly horrible at beginning my stories. So, if you do have anything negative to say please be nice and give advice to follow along with it.

*Warning: small amount of content may be offensive.*

----------------------------------------------

When he was by himself he left the house dark. He lived with his older brother and sister-in-law who let him stay there in secret. He was careful to hide his presence there, if he was discovered he would be arrested and so would the homeowners. Since they were risking their lives for him the least he could do for the only people he cared for was to not get caught.

Caution was more than a priority; it was his life – constantly on guard. He worked third shift so he wasn’t leaving and entering in daylight. The construction company allowed him to work using an alias while being paid under the table, due to influence from his brother. The car he drove was nothing desirable, old and slightly rusted; normal. He wore a hat every time he was out, along with jeans and plain colored shirts.