Life Of A Raindrop: Chapter 1

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

JaelValentine

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:42 pm
Hi everyone!

I've been away for a while- had to deal with some RL stuff.

Here's part of the first chapter of my new novel, which is currently untitled. The working title is Life of a Raindrop.

Thoughts and criticism are welcome (as well as ideas for a title)!

Quote:
>The pigeon strutted nonchalantly toward me, the picture of cool surrounded by chaos. He didn't flutter his wings- not once. They seemed to be clothing to him- there for the purpose of conforming with society's expectations. No, he walked like an expert on walking, jerking his head back and forth in time with his steps. I found myself staring at such a being. How 'bout a trade? I thought. I'll fly, and you....
>I stopped. What could this character want from me? Mulling over my present condition, I came up with nothing. Then I studied the bird. Hmm... your wings for my brain, I offered. You'll be the smartest pigeon of all time, and I'll leave my cares behind and fly forever.
>What are you talking about? the pigeon replied. You can fly if you want to.
>I started. He was right, just as he was wrong. Of everything I could do, flying was the only one I would really miss, and it was one of the ones I had to hide.
>Why? inquired the pigeon. Why should you hide who you are?
>With that- just as the taxi pulled up- I lifted myself into the air. The midday Central Business District traffic roared under my feet, dissipating as I rose into the hot, thick summer air. I heard the flapping of wings behind me; my new friend had burst into the sky with me, as a sendoff. After I noticed him, he peeled off toward the river. I flittered about for a while, then headed for one of the last skyscrapers at the edge of the CBD. My office was empty, so I phased through the translucent glass window and sat at my desk.