Welcome to Gaia! ::

HighTail Cafe (Furry Guild)

Back to Guilds

HTC is your one stop for all things furry on Gaia! 

Tags: furry, anthro, anthropomorphic, LGBT, roleplay 

Reply Serious discussion & Rants
Dept, Money, how I screwed myself.

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Dryskale

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:12 am
I've been in slight debt for about a year and a half now. Its not to bad, but for someone in my situation, its huge.

I hate credit cards, because they lull you in with a false sense of security.

I never wanted a card because I knew exactly what was going to happen, or at least a good guess.

I got a card when I graduated from high school and at first was quite responsible. I used it only for gas, and an occasional purchase off amazon. I never had a balance over $150 dollars, so I was able to pay it at the end of each month.

Then I went to my first semester of college. When I got to college, I was hit with the need of supplies, books, food, tuition, clothes, etc.

My paychecks at the time couldn't afford such a load, so I charged it at first. For the first few months I was able to keep up, but then My car blew up, Christmas came, I got stupid and bought things I didn't need ( mostly cds and fast food).

My financial aid that was helping me fell through thanks to me failing a class ( mostly because the class was at 6 in the morning, I work until 11 to sometimes midnight the night before, and its an hour drive to campus from where I was living, then turn around and be back at work that night.)

Basically Gas, repeated car repairs, food, and necessities kept piling up.

I've been out of college for the last 3 semesters because I plain out couldn't afford it on top of the bills. I've curved my spending habits because there is no way I can afford the way I was living before.