Welcome to Gaia! ::

International Music

Back to Guilds

There's music all around the world! 

Tags: Music, Popular, International, Cultural, Chat 

Reply ♪ Asian Invasion (j-pop, j-rock, k-metal, etc.)
What if I want to download asian music?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Irako of the Desert
Vice Captain

Earnest Paladin

18,600 Points
  • Friend of the Goat 100
  • Team Kitten Star 75
  • Hesitant Participant 100
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 8:34 pm
Ok, I'm a big supporter of paying musicians for their work. I'm a musician myself and would be really upset if somebody got my music without paying me for it. I absolutely hate downloading stuff illegally because when you don't pay for the music, you're stealing from the artist. I usually use iTunes, but that doesn't work when I'm looking for new asian music. Does anyone know where to go to download legal asian music?  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 8:53 pm
I can't really answer that. But I will say this about iTunes... generally unless the artists put there music on iTunes themselves, they don't make a cent off of those sales. iTunes pays straight to the label, and the label pays bands off of there ticket sales at there concerts. So the only way artists can really make there living is by selling there merch at there own shows or putting there stuff up on the internet themselves. So downloading in my view is generally better than going to Walmart who gets a profit, then pays the distributor, who pays the label, who only gives the artist there recording money and a few other bits and pieces. Not saying it's right. Just saying if you are looking for supporting musicians, go straight to there own shows and buy there stuff. >_> Not iTunes or big name companies like Target.