Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

I Am A Photographer
Crew

Conservative Explorer

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:42 pm
How would you like to be able to create perfect high contrast black and white images without blowing out your whites? The ability to make conversions like this....

User Image

User Image

I could teach this step by step, but I thought, why not just share the PS action instead? After all, it will help the creator of the action. So credit goes to Murkar for creating this excellent action. If you do not have Photoshop, I recommend getting it. A Gimp tutorial is coming soon.

-Link to the action-
http://murkar.deviantart.com/gallery/24374610#/d2aez8v

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:59 pm
Hello Captain, What do you mean when you said saying without "blowing out whites"?

I don't have Photoshop, this following is done with Black and White button in my favourite free image editing tool (the software name is called Paint.NET).

User Image

From what I see, there are more white dots in your edit, also the lines between each leave is more clear. Are those how you mean by saying high black and white contrast?  

Nasuh

Partying Member

15,825 Points
  • Team Edward 100
  • Citizen 200
  • Window Shopper 100

I Am A Photographer
Crew

Conservative Explorer

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 8:27 pm
Nasuh
Hello Captain, What do you mean when you said saying without "blowing out whites"?

I don't have Photoshop, this following is done with Black and White button in my favourite free image editing tool (the software name is called Paint.NET).

User Image

From what I see, there are more white dots in your edit, also the lines between each leave is more clear. Are those how you mean by saying high black and white contrast?

"Blown out" is a term used to describe the highlights that are over exposed to the point they lose details.