Reply Tutorials, Techniques, and More!
Photography 101

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

scelestic

PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2012 10:49 am
The guides here are not very complete and I had done one for another website so I thought I would share it here:

Photography 101 with Sarah =)
(I will only be discussing digital photography. Let me know if you would like to know about film as well)

So you know that you are not getting any bad information I have been studying photography for 7 years and I have been in the business as a wedding and portrait photographer for three years. A link to my website is in my signature if you would like to look at my work.

Your Camera:
Point & Shoot vs. DSLR

You probably have a point and shoot camera or a entry level DSLR. Point and shoots have a fixed lens (a lens that does not come off of the camera). DSLRs have lenses that come off and can be replaced with a different lens. This gives you more creative control with a DSLR.

I will get into lenses and other things about the camera later. Right now I would like to focus on things that I see people in these forums need to work on.

Shutter Speed:

You can control shutter speed with a shutter priority mode or manual mode. I suggest you start with shutter priority first. Shutter priority lets you control the shutter speed and the camera sets the aperture for you.
If you can not find that on your camera and also cant find your manual try http://www.photo-manuals.com or message me and I will try to help you find a online version.

If your shutter speed is slow (about 1/50 or below) you will get blurring from movement. If you would like to have the movement in a image blur then put your camera on a tripod because there may be camera shake just from you holding it. If you use a fast shutter speed (about 1/60 or higher though I suggest at least 1/100 to really stop motion) you can freeze movement.