Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Emo Guild

Back to Guilds

What do you think genius? Its a guild for emo's. 

Reply The Emo Guild (Down at the copa... copacabana)
is this an eating disorder? or signs of one

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

ur_code_name_is_milo

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 8:07 am
not being able to swallow propoly and having a fear of choking.
ive had it for a while and its really staring to bug me><  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 12:12 pm
I think you'll be fine.
Food is your friend.
surprised

Just don't worry.
People are starting
to know the heimlich
more now.

implosions

timebombxbaby

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 1:43 pm
That happens to me to. But I think that's just because I used to choke on everything when I was little.

I don't think it'd be an eating disorder, but I'm no expert.

XD

PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2006 6:02 pm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pseudodysphagia_(fear_of_choking)

Pseudodysphagia (fear of choking) is the irrational fear of swallowing or choking. The symptoms are psychosomatic in nature, triggered by a change in the subconcious. The act of swallowing becomes mentally lnked with choking, or with undercapacity of the esophageal opening. This can induce panic reactions prior to or during the act of swallowing. The sensation of difficult swallowing feels authentic to the affected individual, although it is based on nothing in reality. It is important that dysphagia (difficult or painful swallowing) be ruled out before a diagnosis of psuedodysphagia is made.

Fear of choking is associated with anxiety, depression, panic attacks, hypochondriasis, and weight loss. The condition can occur in both children and adults, and is equally common among males and females. Quality of life can be severely affected. Avoidance of restaurants or social settings is also common, since sometimes food can only be taken in small bites or with liquid.