Welcome to Gaia! ::

Infinite possibilities-A writer's guild

Back to Guilds

This is a writer's guild where all can gather for feedback and advice on all mediums of writing. Plus it's a great place for conversation. 

Tags: Writing, Writer, Writer's Block, Critiques, Friends 

Reply Infinite possibilities-A writer's guild
A Writer's Worst Nightmare Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Creeeeeepy.
  DOSHITE, WTF WAS THAT??????
  OMG scary!
  XD, this was funny.
  NIGHTMARES! .....O.O OMG!
  Hated it.
  Pollwhore here for collection
View Results

KirbyVictorious

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 5:46 pm
Sometimes, I have very strange dreams. In those dreams, I am a famous author, acclaimed for a bestseller that's sweeping the nation. Naturally, I had read my book a million times during editing, so I never bothered to pick up a copy...but when people started to come up to me, telling me ecstatically about what they loved best, I have no idea what they are talking about.

"Oh...yeah," I reply to their comments, excusing myself to pick up a copy of the book that I had apparently written...and unfamiliar words jump out at me, wonderful and musical, but certainly not mine.

And other times it is worse, in that the book under my name is not a bestseller at all. In fact, as people tell me how awful it is, I wonder along with them how it was ever even published. My name is sullied, my career over.

But there are nightmares that are still worse, those where our beloveds, our favorites, our creations die at the hands of some evil, whether we had written this scene or not, haunting our minds and seeming so real that we wake up crying. And for me, these were most common of all.

With a creative mind comes nightmares, whether about the book itself or the idea of having your name in print. As writers, we dreamed by day...but at night, insecurity and fear settled in.